Titleimage: Institute for Civil Law

Welcome

Thank you for visiting our website. The Institute for Civil Law (Zivilistisches Seminar) is part of the Department of Private Law. It is the University of Bern's competence center for Swiss and European Private Law as well as for international laws and principles in the field of Private Law (e.g. UN Sales Convention or Incoterms). Faculty and staff focus on research and teaching in the field of Civil Law (Code of Obligations, Civil Code and ancillary statutes). The tenured professors of the Institute also head the Institute of Banking Law (Professor Susan Emmenegger), the Institute for Liability and Insurance Law (Professor Frédéric Krauskopf) and the Institute for Notary Law and Notarial practice (Professor Stephan Wolf). Furthermore, the Institute coaches students who take part in national and international moot court competitions such as the prestigious  Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot.

For more information see below.

NEWS

CBDC Research Forum Berne

On the 19th of November, the Institute for Civil Law, together with the Department of Economics, organized the “CBDC Research Forum Bern”, bringing together national and international researchers and practitioners. The event was held under Chatham House rule and virtually connected 30 participants from Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein and Italy for talks and discussion.
With the increasing acceptance and usability of virtual currencies, central banks and state actors began to explore and adopt emerging solutions to further digitize financial markets. After China, for example, tested a first prototype of a Central Bank Digital Currency
(CBDC) in practice, the European Central Bank also presented plans to introduce a digital Euro to the public. Similarly, the SNB in cooperation with SIX has been exploring and evaluating DLTs as an alternative CBDC and settlement infrastructure since 2019.
Talks and discussions provided insights into practical developments, case studies and empirical research into emerging CBDC systems.
Furthermore, implications from a financial market, supervisory and civil law perspective were discussed in detail.
Speakers: Raphael Auer (Keynote, BIS), Nino Landerer (SNB), Jonas Groß (University of Bayreuth), Aurelia Brine (University of Marburg), Corinne Zellweger-Gutknecht (Basel University), Marco Dell’Erba (University of Zurich), Simon Hess (University of Salzburg) and Christoph Kreiterling (BAFIN).

21.02.19

Skilex in Mürren with Lord Jonathan Mance and Lady Mary Arden from the UK Supreme Court

From 10-13 January the Skilex took place in Mürren. The participants discussed with Lord Justice Baron Jonathan Mance and Lady Justice Mary Arden questions regarding the validity of No-Oral-Modification Clauses on the basis of a recent ruling by the UK Supreme Court.

Vorherige

More News

Titelbild: Zivilistisches Seminar

Herzlich willkommen

Es freut uns, dass Sie unsere Webseite besuchen. Das Zivilistische Seminar gehört zum Departement für Privatrecht und ist das Kompetenzzentrum der Universität Bern für das schweizerische und europäische Privatrecht sowie internationale gesetzliche (z.B. UN-Kaufrecht) und nichtgesetzliche Regelwerke (z.B. Incoterms). In seinen Abteilungen befassen sich die Mitarbeitenden mit dem Obligationenrecht und dem Zivilrecht (OR, ZGB und Nebengesetzgebung) und nehmen in diesen Bereich die Lehre und Forschung wahr. Die Ordinarien des Zivilistischen Seminars leiten zudem das Institut für Bankrecht (Professorin Susan Emmenegger), das Institut für Haftpflicht- und Versicherungsrecht (Professor Frédéric Krauskopf) und das Institut für Notariatsrecht und Notarielle Praxis (Professor Stephan Wolf). Ausserdem werden am Zivilistischen Seminar Studierende gecoacht, die an nationalen und internationalen Moot Court Wettbewerben teilnehmen (z.B. Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot).

Weitere aktuelle Informationen finden Sie im unteren Teil dieser Seite.

AKTUELL

28.01.21

CBDC Research Forum Bern

Am 19. November organisierte das Institut für Zivilrecht zusammen mit dem Volkswirtschaftlichen Institut das "CBDC-Forschungsforum Bern", in dem nationale und internationale Forscher und Praktiker teilnahmen. Die Veranstaltung fand unter Chatham House Rule statt und brachte 30 Teilnehmer aus der Schweiz, Österreich, Deutschland, Liechtenstein und Italien virtuell zu Vorträgen und Diskussionen zusammen.
Mit der zunehmenden Akzeptanz und Nutzbarkeit virtueller Währungen begannen Zentralbanken und staatliche Akteure, neue Lösungen zur weiteren Digitalisierung der Finanzmärkte zu erforschen und zu evaluieren. Nachdem beispielsweise China einen ersten Prototyp einer Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC) in der Praxis getestet hatte, stellte auch die Europäische Zentralbank Pläne zur Einführung eines digitalen Euro der Öffentlichkeit vor.
In ähnlicher Weise erforscht und evaluiert die SNB in Zusammenarbeit mit der SIX seit 2019 DLTs als alternative CBDC- und Abwicklungsinfrastruktur.
Vorträge und Diskussionen gaben Einblicke in praktische Entwicklungen, Fallstudien und empirische Forschung zu neu entstehenden CBDC-Systemen. Darüber hinaus wurden die Implikationen aus finanzmarkt-, aufsichts- und zivilrechtlicher Sicht eingehend diskutiert.
Vortragende: Raphael Auer (Keynote, BIZ), Nino Landerer (SNB), Jonas Groß (Universität Bayreuth), Aurelia Brine (Universität Marburg), Corinne Zellweger-Gutknecht (Universität Basel), Marco Dell'Erba (Universität Zürich), Simon Hess (Universität Salzburg) und Christoph Kreiterling (BAFIN)

21.02.19

Skilex in Mürren mit Lord Jonathan Mance und Lady Mary Arden vom UK Supreme Court

Vom 10. bis zum 13. Januar fand in Mürren das Skilex statt. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer diskutierten mit Lord Justice Baron Jonathan Mance und Lady Justice Mary Arden über Fragen der Gültigkeit von No-Oral-Modification Clauses anhand eines jüngeren Urteils des UK Supreme Court.

Vorherige

Weitere Beiträge anzeigen